Star Girl and Heary Girls monotype and mixed media art by KatCanPaint

How Do You Know When Its Done?

How do you know when you are done? I never know. I have this one poor little painting that has been at least four other paintings, but I keep painting over it. Maybe I can name it Indecisive. Ha! (I am really horrible with naming paintings, really horrible. Sometimes I just name them the first thing that comes into my head.)

Rain Queen and Guardian Angel colored pencil art by KatCanPaint

The Rain Queen and Guardian Angel (See what I mean about titles ?)

The Rain Queen is mixed media on bond paper. Markers/colored pencils/glitter gel pens/paint/collage papers/tissue paper/mica powders… and more probably. She is metallic and glittery in some parts.

Guardian Angel is markers and colored pencil on Bristol.  Ursula Vernon of Metal and Magic had a tutorial for the scribble background on her deviant art page, and it is ever so much fun. If you are ever feeling to ‘tight’ with your pencils or paints or whatever, it is a fun fun fun way to scribble and create texture and shading. Scribble! Basically you create a colored ground with acrylics (I used markers) and then over the top of it you make little scribbley bits with colored pencils.

 

 

Star Girl and Heary Girls monotype and mixed media art by KatCanPaint

  Star Girl and Heart Girls

The next three are pieces from last year: two are from when I was playing with monotype printing techniques.  I keep having this image in my brain and I paint it and draw it and doodle it, and it doesn’t leave me. Hearts and stars and girls with floating hair.

 

<3 Kat

You can find me on Twitter ::  Etsy :: and Pinterest.

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

