Fairy Garden Painting by KatCanPaint

Fairytale Painting

Here is my latest fairy tale painting in acrylic, beeswax, and mica on wood:

 

Fairy Garden Painting by KatCanPaint

Lush 2008

I called this piece Lush because I was thinking about lush green foliage while painting it. (I wish I could have a garden, but I can’t make plants grow.) The moths were going to be butterflies, but I didn’t want to add anymore colors, so I left them white and glowing like ghost moths. Originally (in the Youtube ‘making of’ video) the girl was not a faerie.. but then I added wings because it just felt right… or because I love faeries. I feel like the style I’ve been working in has a bit of that ‘children’s illustrator’ quality to it from back in the day when I wanted to illustrate books.

I made a speed painting of the first half of this painting and hosted in on YouTube

 

<3 Kat

You can find me on Twitter ::  Etsy :: and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “Fairytale Painting

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

