Mixed Media art journal page Yes by KatCanPaint

Art Journal Pages! January 1st and 2nd

Art Journal challenge: share a page from my art journal for every day this week.

Mixed Media art journal page Yes by KatCanPaint

 

January 1st: Yes! Layers and Layers and layers and layers. I painted, then painted, then painted some more… I glued a bunch of magazine photos down, painted again, then I wrote a bit, then I painted again.
It was fun, a bit of jump-starting my brain on this one. I think the next couple I do will incorporate the magazine collage and painting. I don’t over-think so much, I just sort of automatically glue things down. It was fun, and liberating, and everything that I wanted this journaling experience to be.

 

Mixed media art journal page wonderland by KatCanPaint
January 2nd: Fly Away. More layers of collage and paint. I took the idea further and attempted to create a little girl with cut outs. It feels a little Alice in Wonderland-y. Her hair was the most fun.

These pieces came out a bit darker than I thought they would, but I’m okay with that. It is all about the process for me, right now, the experimentation and the mess.

<3 Kat

You can find me on Twitter ::  Etsy :: and Pinterest.

 

16 thoughts on “Art Journal Pages! January 1st and 2nd

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

