Storybook Mermaid original painting by KatCanPaint

Storybook Mermaid * original mixed media mermaid painting by KatCanPaint

Storybook Mermaid * original mixed media mermaid painting

 

Storybook Mermaid original painting by KatCanPaint

Storybook Mermaid
Acrylic & Colored pencil on canvas
11″x14″

Here is the first painting I made after giving birth. I really like the varying colors on her tail… the rest is odd to me.
I just really wanted to paint a mermaid.

Everything I do is one-handed now. One hand is ever-attached to the baby and I’m literally typing with my right hand… the left is cradling a sleeping-hiccuping-snuffling bundle. He is so congested, its terrible… the noises he makes! He sounds like a monster. Poor little guy.
So I go about my days one-handed. Because the first thing I learned as the parent of a newborn (whoa. I just thought about that sentence.) is that if the baby is comfortable and sleeping contentedly then you do not move him. Don’t do it.

 

Holding On original painting by KatCanPaint
Holding On
acrylic on canvas
9″x12″

I’ve been adding to and changing bits of this painting since I started it a year ago. I like the background now.. not so bright boring bluey-blue, and I tried to soften the details of her face and body. I don’t know if anyone can even tell the difference… but I can.

<3 Kat

You can find me on Twitter ::  Etsy :: and Pinterest.

One thought on “Storybook Mermaid * original mixed media mermaid painting by KatCanPaint

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

