painted portrait of my son

Painting a day – Day 1- Portrait of Keian

Portrait of Keian
acrylic on watercolor paper

I herniated 2 disks in my lower back (no fun!) and I’m stuck at home until I am healed. So I started a Painting – A – Day challenge.  I’m committing to making a piece of art a day, until I am off of bed-rest, to keep myself busy and to keep my painting skills sharp.  When I was preparing for my gallery show I was really amazed by how daily painting really improved my abilities.

To start off this whole painting experiment  I painted a portrait of my two-year-old son, Keian.  He is painted in acrylics using lots of thin washes built up wet into wet; almost like working with watercolor or goache.  I used a muted, limited palette and the wet-into-wet technique gave the painting a very soft look.  Its such a soft and sweet painting of my little boy that I think I want to make prints for my family.

I am also offering baby portraits on my etsy, so if you have a lovely photo of your child that you would like for me to make into art have a look!

<3 Kat

One thought on “Painting a day – Day 1- Portrait of Keian

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

