Mixed Media Portrait

This piece started out with a mix of blues, purples, and yellow swirled onto canvas. (Aqua/purple/yellow are my favorite colors together.)

I didn’t really have a plan for this canvas first; I hate staring at a blank canvas so I paint a mix of colorful layers onto my canvases and set them aside to paint on later. Later, when I felt like doing something artsy I collaged papers onto the painted background.  I get annoyed with waiting for things to dry so I use a hair dryer to speed along the drying process.

I drew her face with markers, painted in her features with acrylics, and used the hair dryer to dry the layers again.  I doodled on top of the painting with calligraphy pens and markers and acrylic swirls. I really enjoy messing around with multilayer pieces like this in between intense focus super detailed acrylic paintings like The Constant Gardener.

I’m thinking about doing another piece like this as an online painting class.  I liked detailing the process of my mixed media angel painting  in a quick and easy (with bullet points!) painting tutorial. With a couple of process pictures and detailed, easy to follow instructions of the process it would be a fun free painting class.

<3 Kat

2 thoughts on “Mixed Media Portrait

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

