mixed media transfer tutorial pretty girl face

Gel Medium transfer tutorial, before and after

I’m working on two huge paintings and they are in their middle ugly-duckling stages, so I’ll share a transfer technique instead.  The original painting, on the left, was painted on canvas covered in recycled book pages.  I really like it.  The second was a study using a print of the same painting, transfered with gel medium and over painted with acrylics.

How I did it:

  • I flipped the original image in photoshop and printed it in color on a normal piece of office paper.
  • I wanted the finished piece to be able to take a lot of layers, so I used a piece of 140lb paper, thicker paper used for water color painting.
  • I painted 1 coat of soft gel medium onto the paper, making sure I covered the entire surface of the paper evenly.  Gel medium dries quickly so work fast!
  • Press the print into the gel medium, you can’t reposition it so make sure its where you want it.
  • Burnish print into the surface; I press the image into the surface with my hands then use a credit card to scrape over the surface.
  • Let dry or blast with a hair dryer (my personal favorite.)

To remove you peel the paper off- if it sticks you can wet the back of the paper and rub the stuck bits off. Now you have a transferred copy of a piece you liked that you can alter! Over paint, collage, transfer something else.  It’s a really good exercise to use in art journals, or as a prompt to get you unstuck from a creative rut.

Happy Painting!

<3 Kat

One thought on “Gel Medium transfer tutorial, before and after

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

