Flower Girl original acrylic painting by KatCanPaint

Flower Girl : Lessons on Newborns and Giving

Flower Girl is an old painting from 2009: I’m going through my blog and photo archives trying to choose what to edit. I’m ready to reorganize, rethink, repurpose and prioritize.

Flower Girl original acrylic painting by KatCanPaint

This flower girl was painted right after I gave birth to my son.  I was feeling so crazy in those moments, life with a newborn is a crazy wild sleepless blessing.

I breast fed my son, and slept only in stolen moments, ate in the same span of minutes, and cooked / read/ bathed with my baby.  I lived, breathed, relished newborn. When my son was old enough that he slept a little longer in between feedings I made this painting.

My brain and body were still wired to the baby: but instead of the imagery being nests and protection it turned into gardens and harvest, imagery creation and of giving. See, she has so many roses.  She prunes and picks and decorates.  She wears them, she makes rose tea, she gives them away.  The more roses she gives, the more roses grow, the more roses she gives… This painting, my Flower Girl, helped me process this newborn baby and all the changes he brought into my life.

<3 Kat

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

