Free Painting Tutorial! How to Draw a Pretty Face: Week One – Eyes

Howdy! All this month on the blog I’m offering a free painting workshop: How to Paint a Pretty Female Face.

This first tutorial is how to draw the eyes, because eyes are my favorite things to draw!  I doodle eyes everywhere, they are my default doodle when I am on the phone or trying to warm up / loosen up for a larger piece.

Yay, free face template / pattern to paint. For this blog workshop we will be painting this ^ lovely girl from start to finish, so feel free to print and transfer her onto your favorite canvas, watercolor paper, or art journal.
I will be covering all the drawing basics first, before we jump into painting, because it is important to have a well crafted sketch and drawing before you start thinking in paint and color.  If your foundation drawing is wonky your painting will be wonky too.

The tutorial today will be covering the basics of how to draw a semi-realistic stylized eye like the one on template.  You can print out the tutorial and practice drawing basic beautiful eyes to create your own face if you’re a more advanced artist and don’t want a pattern / template.
I made a lovely infographic (that is perfectly pin-able, hint hint) for my first installment of my free painting workshop How to Draw a Pretty Face – Week One : Eyes

In this blog workshop free painting series you can expect to learn how to draw all  the basics of a pretty female face:

  • How to Draw Eyes (You are Here ^_^)
  • How to Paint Eyes
  • How to Draw Noses
  • How to Paint Noses
  • How to Draw Lips
  • How to Paint Lips
  • How to Draw the Face (facial structure) and Ears
  • How to Draw Hair
  • How to Paint Hair
  • Bringing it all together

Plus:

    • How to Mix Custom Skintone Colors
    • How to Choose a Canvas
    • Types of Paint : Quick and Easy Explanation and Reviews
    • Types of Brushes: Quick and Easy Explanation and Reviews (I’m feeling a theme here)
    • Gesso, Mediums, + more: demystifying the whys and whens of using primers and mediums
    • How to Incorporate Mixed Media and Collage elements
    • Where do I go from here?
    • Pinterest drawing and painting Inspiration

I know there will be a lot more additions to this list too, because I want to include everything I know about drawing and painting a pretty face in this series.  I want it to be easy to read and follow along and fun for beginners and more advanced painters alike.

If you have questions go ahead and leave a comment so I can answer them & add them to the tutorial.

<3 Kat

10 thoughts on “Free Painting Tutorial! How to Draw a Pretty Face: Week One – Eyes

  1. Gabriella says:

    Wow! I totally cannot draw a human face and have always been fascinated by those who can. I just realized that I tend to draw the iris in the middle of the almond shape… and it always ends up looking like a possessed doll. Now I know where I’ve been going wrong since I was 5! Thanks for offering this, Kat. This may just become my daily playtime for the next little while.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

