3 simple steps to drawing ears by katcanpaint.com

Tutorial Tuesday: Ears! Exciting, I know.

Need a quick and easy take on drawing ears?  I’ve simplified my method into 3 easy steps.

Whoo hoo! It’s Tutorial Tuesday & I’ve got some info on drawing ears.

I was taught in figure drawing class never to over accentuate the ears or nostrils.  I took this message to heart, and now I suggest the ears with two shapes. A modified C or [ shape plus a lowercase e.

If you study the work of cartoonists, you’ll see this is a common way to draw ears.  I learned how to do the full on anatomically correct ear in school, but unless I am painting a portrait, I simplify.

Why make it hard on yourself, or draw attention to features that aren’t important to your painting?  I love painting the eyes and the hair so I really detail those parts… and the viewer is drawn to the parts you spend the most time and detail on.

Easy Peasy!

Here’s your quickie ear infographic:

3 simple steps to drawing ears by katcanpaint.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Guidelines for ears placement

 

The placement on the head is the most important detail to get correct, because too large ears or ears that are placed too high / low on the head make them super noticeable instead of blend into the background details of your pretty girl.

I recommend drawing your ears in between the middle of the eyes and the bottom of the nose. Experiment and see what looks nicest to you.

I don’t worry too much about ears, honestly, this is one of those times that I am lazy, or ‘break the rules.’  I know that most of the time I am going to cover those ears up with a beautiful hair do, so why spend a lot of time agonizing over drawing the perfect ear?

 

I’ll be back later this week with some quick tips for drawing the neck and shoulders and then we are onto the hair.  Whoooo hair!

Its my favorite thing to draw, besides eyes + you can get super detailed, or really fun and freeform and it still looks great.

 

<3 Kat

 

In this blog workshop / free painting series you can expect to learn how to draw and paint all the basics of a pretty female face so please share these tutorials with anyone you think would love free drawing and painting lessons.  Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter, whatevs – just link back to me pleaseandthankyou!

Look at all this content I’m covering:

Plus:

I know there will be a lot more additions to this list too, because I want to include everything I know about drawing and painting a pretty face in this series.  I want it to be easy to read and follow along and fun for beginners and more advanced painters alike.

If you have questions go ahead and leave a comment so I can answer them & add them to the tutorial.

 

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

